mtbr member
    Mar 2014

Advice on SS specific parts

Hi folks.

So I've been riding single speed for a few months now. Got a lovely Cotic Simple 29 frame and have used all my parts from a different build to create my ss.

Now. I bloody love the single, and want to build it properly. I'm thinking about maybe rigid? Maybe a sus fork. Not decided yet. I'm not very well versed in hubs for ss. What's out there? Seen the hope trial hubs. Or should I use something else. I've been sing a surly cog with spacers on my current wheel set but it has chewed up the body somewhat. Don't want the same thing to happen to the hopes if I went down that route. Or should I do a screw on cog? And what works best.

Here's the build as it stands currently.

Thanks in advance for the input.

Ross

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    I have never felt the need to have a single-speed specific hub on my mountain bike. a thick cog with spacers works fine, and you have the option to put a cassettes and derailleur on that wheel if needed. if you're worried about chewing up the freehub (which has not been a problem for me with thick SS cogs), get something with a steel or titanium freehub.

singlespeed freewheels are pretty darn cool, but your hub options are pretty limited and there are only about two good, reliable freewheels on the market.

in my case, I only own one bike, so I like the verstility of using a rigid or suspension fork and the option to use gears or SS. if you own several bikes, that might be a different story.
    Thorn in your Sidewall
    Vassago Jabberwocky

mtbr member
    I run a DT Swiss 240 SS hub with Chris King cogs. Surley cogs on normal Hope Pro 2 hubs did not last very long and also ate a little into freewheel body. No issues with wear on current setup so far.

Advice on SS specific parts-img_20170519_145918_354.jpg

mtbr member