Thread: 29" to 26"

mtbr member
    Aug 2004

29" to 26"

Hi,
    As I posted before I'm thinking of replacing my GF Rig with a nice steel frame.
    I have recieved an offer from a local bike shop to trade in my GF for a nice steel frame & parts (frame is Reynolds 853, new frame hand built by a Taiwan frame builder).
    The only thing that is still holding me back is the fact the the new frame is a 26"er.
    I think the 29" concept really fits single speed riding - it's all about maintaining momentum, and the big wheels are faster & make the technical stuff easier.
    Would appreciate your thoughts.
    Thanks
    PM

Full of hot air
    Well I was thinking of trading in my SPD's & fitting some cages with toe straps. Then get rid of my nice comfy Fizik seat & fit a Brooks rivetted saddle with matching grips. Ditch the sus fork for a rigid---

Oh crap sorry retro boys & girls

Does not sound like a great idea to me, but I'm just getting into the whole 29er thing. It looks like a step backwards instead of forwards. What you have said about momentum, rolling over obstacles etc would be enough to sway me towards the 29er over the 26er.

There will probably be some great deals in the near future. So if you can wait a while there's sure to be a steel 29er frame coming your way soon.
    Tastes like carbon

Sweep the leg!
    Quote Originally Posted by Zepinator
    Well I was thinking of trading in my SPD's & fitting some cages with toe straps. Then get rid of my nice comfy Fizik seat & fit a Brooks rivetted saddle with matching grips. Ditch the sus fork for a rigid---

Oh crap sorry retro boys & girls
    No offense taken because you hit the nail on the head. Regardless of what works for others, if you feel that 29er wheels and all things that goes along with a 29er fits your riding style and trails then you've answered your own question... avoid the 26" bike.

I would.