Thread: 26" ss

mk9
    mtbr member
    Jan 2012

26" ss

I'm new here so please be gentle.

I've been riding 24" ss for about 8 years now and I've decided to bump up to 26".
    Most of my riding is Urban but I do like to hit the skate park with my 9 year old
    occasionally. Although my tires "rarely" leave the ground (i know, totally whimpy, but at almost 50 I break easy) I still want some stout. I will do the occasional loading ramp drop
    at the local mart.
    I want a stock bike but understand I will have to make some changes.
    full chromo (rigid) fork and frame, front and rear disk brake, sealed bearings
    I'm not sure what this stlye is called but I like the Haro Steel Reserve 1.1 but I want to make sure I'm not over looking others.
    Any suggestions?

Apr 2007
    Haro Reserve is a DJ bike. Pretty nice, and if you're just going to be hitting skate parks and dinking around town, not a bad choice.

If you want a mountain bike to take on trails, I'd look at a Redline Monocog 26. It will be more comfy for the longer rides, too. Comes with V Brakes, but hubs are disc ready, so slapping on discs should be easy.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    mk9,

I bought a Haro Steel Reserve1.1 late last summer. I'm really enjoying it. I've made some changes to it, nothing drastic. I added a front disc brake, changed to a 16t cog and change the handle bars to a 3 inch rise. I'm 62 this month. Oh, the original seat and short post went to the shed and a longer post and a new take off seat from a Haro Heartland went on the 1.1. The suspended seat is a big plus. The 1.1 is now my main ride. This is a great winter ride, easy cadance, lower wind chill, and I try to ride a hour plus each day. I live in central Illinois. I'm learning to do trackstands, every stop sign gets a trackstand. My reflexes are coming back, somewhat. I hope to learn some basic trials moves. All in all, I'm very pleased with the 1.1

BobH.

When spring gets here, I change to a 14 tooth cog.