Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Help me find the correct bike shorts?

2K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  Mrtrailblazer330 
#1 ·
Hi, cycling newbie here :p I'll start off with saying if this thread is in the wrong section of the forum please do what you will to move it to the right spot! About 2 weeks ago I purchased my first bike shop bike,(forgot what they say the actual term is) a 2013 Specialized Rockhopper 29er 17.5". I'm 14 years old about 5'4 (and growing fast!) and 130 lbs. WELL, My dad and I put a gel spring saddle we had lying around and after a couple rides it started to feel like it was cutting off circulation to my legs.. So I took it off of there and put the stock specialized saddle on it.. And I'm back to the conclusion THAT IM SITTING ON ROCKS. I can't stand to even mount the darn thing! I of course was told that its tale a while and a lot ass-pain to get used to it, also that everyone rides with bike shorts. Which leads me to the big question.. What bike shorts would y'all recommend I try? I need to stay under the $50 price range. I'd appreciate everyone's recommendations as to what I should try to find out what is right for me. Links, names, pictures what have you. I can try to find them at my LBS or even (dare I say it) anything good and beginner-Ish that I can pick up from sports authority? Or is that a bad idea all around? Well like I said before I am just a newbie. Not mountain biking at all yet. Just riding on the road 4-6 mile rides trying to get all used to it. After my body is a little more shaped up to it I will increase to 10 miles and so on. (Wow I'm so hardcore right? JK LOL) so yea something beginner wise with good padding but not too excessive. Also something that's fairly tight and keeps my manhood from moving around everywhere and feeling like I'm getting a rash like my first ride. But yeah! You guys can take it from here! Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·