Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Flowy Smooth Singletrack

14K views 70 replies 28 participants last post by  sandwich 
#1 ·
Alright, this has probably been specifically done, or indirectly done, but I couldn't find it so I am hoping to have this come through. I am new to mountain biking (basically) after a 15 year hiatus, and like many of you, love fast flowy singletrack. I realize its not what Mass trails are all about, but I have come across some good choices, but would love to find more. So the criteria is that there has to be a 1. substantial number of miles of 2. fast 3. flowy 4. singletrack. My list so far, in no particular order, is:

1. Landlocked Forest
2. Duxbury
3. Willowdale
4. Stratham Hill
5. Russel Mills
6. Cutler
7. Franklin Falls
8. Bear Brook
9. Western Greenway

Any other recommendations would be great. I have GPX/TCX files of all my rides if interested in "doing" any of my routes.

#7 ·
Agree on earl's but disagree on Hawley. 1. it's awesome (just rode there today) and perhaps compared to Wendell, DAR and B-Street it qualifies as smooth, but not in any general sense can the root and rock strewn trails of Hawley be called smooth.

2. Flowy...old school flowy, for sure (which I love) but by today's standards (think the KT effect) it's way to tight and turny to be 'flowy' as a whole.

Neither of which decries the place, as I said, it rules, but only compared to the harsher rides of western, ma can hawley meet the 'smooth and flowy' description.

#9 ·
OK my list for fast and flowy in descending order (for MA) :
-Earls. Close to KT level but there isn't much of it.
-Cutler Park. Again, not very much but so close to Boston.
-Otis. I would go here more if it wasn't for the traffic. Great place to ride in winter as it typically is snow free.
-Trail of Tears. See above.
-Russell Mill. Fun but not a lot of miles.
-Goat Hill. My "go to" local ride.
-West Hill Dam
-Ribbon Candy