Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Convert trail bike to AM/FR, should I go for it?

2K views 17 replies 9 participants last post by  David C 
#1 ·
Hey everyone! First post here in a while, so excuse me if I am putting this in the wrong section or anything. I am not a beginner rider, and I know my parts pretty well, but I've never tried to swap a frame on a bike before so I figured this would be a good place to post.

I just bought a brand new 2011 Haro Flightline Trail with a 17" frame from a local bike shop for a really great price ($600 before tax). The bike feels great and is a definite upgrade from my last setup, but I need something a little different. My type of riding falls into the all-mountain range, but you could even consider it free-ride I guess. A hardtail is not going to cut it for me, I bent the back rim within 10mins of riding the bike out of the shop and I was barely doing anything.

My typical ride includes lots of intense climbs and switch backs in combination with super fast downhill slaloms, with huge drops and jumps thrown in all over the place. I also ride my bike on campus here at App State and I like to jump stair cases, walls, etc. So I need a bike that can withstand all that. Maybe I am asking too much out of one bike, but it seems like a good free-ride setup would cover all of that.

Here's the specs for the bike I have:
- RST Gila Pro 100mm with LO
- Tange headset, Pivit bar and stem, WTB Moto grips
- Truvativ EC400 3.0 42/32/22 crankset, Truvativ BB
- Shimano Alivio FD-M431 front derailleur
- Shimano SLX RD-M662-SGS rear derailleur
- Shimano Deore CS-HG50-9M cassette
- Shimano Deore CN-HG53 chain
- Shimano Alivio SL-M430 shifters
- Shimano BR-M445 hydraulic disc brakes, 160mm rotors
- Pivit hubs, Weinmann XT-24 rims, Kenda Kadre tires
- Haro MTB race saddle, Pivit seatpost and clamp