Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Disc Brake Lock Up

12K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  1$Serenity 
#1 ·
Disc brake lock Up problem
Both of my front and rear disc brake lock up easily with slight press. Last Sunday I hurt myself as the bike flip over while I stopped urgently avoiding a kid in about12mph speed.
When I contol my motor cycle, the pressure is linerly proportional to the pressure I give and I can control to stop smoothly but not to my MTB. The disc brake of the MTB, it is not propotional, it just lock up instanly with slight pressure during slow speed riding. For bicycling, I used to the v-brake which I can control exactly to stop smoothly and I am new to my MTB disc brake.
If I ride in high speed, the disc brake does not lock up easily, it starts lock up easily once the bike is in slow speed. So now I cannot conrol to stop smoothly, the wheel just lock up once it slow down to near stop speed. I have not tried disc brake of other MTB, so I really do not know if my MTB disk brake is normal or having problem.
Is there any problem to my MTB disc brake? IF there is problem, how do I repair or making adjustment so that I can stop smoothly without locking up?
Thanks for help!

#7 ·
I use 2 fingers only. But I used to old style left side front brake, now the one is right side front brake, I do remember to brake the the right hand first in normal situation. Do I have to brake really very slightly each time which is hard to react gently in urgent case? What kind of brake? I have to check when back at home.
Is it that disc brake really lock up dead easily? Can I made any adjustment to reduce the braking force so it will not lock up dead?

#8 ·