Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Did I pick the right bike?

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Zee916 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm new to the bad ass mountain bikes, so HI!!!!. I've ridden in Colorado, Utah, Arizona, Idaho but I just bought my first nice bike.

I decided on the FSR XC Comp by Specialized from what the salesman at the store said. Did some research online too.

I live in Dallas, and want to be able to just do normal trails with a moderate level of riding but definately some hard stuff. No downhilling, no crazy jumping or cliffs or crazy gnarly stuff.

I do have a place in Durango, Colorado as well so I want to be able to take it there as well.

My friend said the bike could blowout in hard conditions b/c of lack of travel... Should I worry about this? To me it seemed the bike is fine for what I want but he said something about a Stumpjumper HT which is similar price I think.

Did I make a good call. I really liked how light and nimble it was plus the red and white was a cool color scheme.

Did I make the right call? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Zach

See less See more
#2 ·
it's the right choice

I have no idea what your 'friend' means: "blowout in hard conditions b/c of lack of travel",
but for your riding style you've chosen very well, IMHO.

I did blow a seal in the shock last fall, but that was riding it very hard in mountain conditions at Whistler Bike Park; the bike handled extremely well considering it was out of place there.

Jim

#5 ·
Nope, he won't blow through

the travel; the only risk for the Fox shock is repeated hits on high speed bumps, i.e. braking bumps. Friction (heat) causes the seals to fail. He will be fine otherwise, if I can do it for a day at Whistler BP and 200lb with gear, he'll do even better in CO etc.

Jim

#6 ·
Your friend is full of ****

I have a 3" travel full suspension bike that I have ridden in all kinds of rocky, technical terrain. That bike is a great choice for the riding you will be doing.