Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

plain H2O vs. sports drinks like Gatorade/Powerade?

2K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Fleas 
#1 ·
I'm a football coach and completely new to biking, but as I research this and other sites, I keep seeing "water bottles" discussion....
but in my world (I've coached pro players, etc.) our trainers are always telling our athletes that too much plain water just flushes your system and that they need to re-hydrate with electrolytes (sodium, potassium, calcium, and magnesium).
I'm interested in bikepacking and starting to plan, but in general to all types on here, is there a reason why people do not use these types of products that I'm not finding?
(insert beer jokes if needed lol)
thanks

#2 ·
First, you are getting it wrong ;) People do talk about "water bottles" but for majority of them, there's no water in them but all sort of other stuff. But in reality, if you do a little bit of sport here and there (2-3h relatively easy ride is exactly this), all this is overkill, and plain water is perfectly fine. We get so much of electrolytes in our bodies with normal food through the day (even with healthy bio food, which most of people don't eat, and even more/too much with junk stuff), we certainly don't need to add some extra for that little amount we drink during this activity.
Sure for pro athletes things are different, but even there junk like Gatorade/Powerade is not something you want to use (I have been in pro endurance sport for long time, so I have few ideas what is really needed), but I doubt most of people here are pro athletes, and they have controlled diets, and especially so intensive workouts like pro athletes do.

#3 ·
You could find more info on the Roadie forms for this question. But the majority of cyclists don't need Gels or power bars on short rides. You start needed them for high intensity training. Rides 2-6 hours Is when gels and (Real FOOD) start coming into play.