Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Worth upgrading to Recon Silver TK SoloAir?

I recently bought a used Kona Caldera which came with the stock OEM version Marzocchi MZ Race (coil). This fork is too damn soft and it bottoms out even from braking on a flat surface. I tried to increase the preload by taking it apart and inserting a spacer on top of the coil but that did nothing.

I am looking to upgrade and found that RS Recon Silver TK AirSolo is on Amazon for $204 shipped. I am a newbie and this will be my first "serious" fork (or at least it seems serious to me).

My question to those more knowledgeable is : Is this fork the best "bang for your buck" at $200 or should I shop around for something better? I wouldn't want to spend a lot more unless I was getting something significantly better.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I had the same fork on my Cannondale trail SL 2.
    It worked very well so in my opinion for $200 it's worth it.

Maybe look elsewhere for the same fork to compare the price.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by foxone View Post
    I had the same fork on my Cannondale trail SL 2.
    It worked very well so in my opinion for $200 it's worth it.

Maybe look elsewhere for the same fork to compare the price.
    Thanks for the feedback.

Apparently PerformanceBike.com had the fork for $209 on sale but it is now selling it for $299 and the cheapest one I found on eBay was actually a used one taken off a Cannondale Trail SL 2. That guy wants at least 200 plus $15 for shipping, which is more than it costs new.

I don't mind buying used but there has to be a decent discount from new for it to be worth it.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Take from:
    Quick RockShox fork question - Mtbr Forums

Quote Originally Posted by hadeone View Post
    So it's safe to say you like the fork?