mtbr member
    Jun 2014

? on travel of front fork.

I am new to mountain bike riding, been doing it for around a month. I have maybe 30 hours of riding so far on my Trek Remedy 7.

I have serviced my Fox shocks and they feel great nice and smooth, they are pretty simple to work on once you understand how they work! My question is my Fox 32 Float RL front fork can get 150mm of travel that's about 6 inches American measurement. Personally I am not doing any real big drops or anything and just riding intermediate trails, the most travel I use is 4 1/4 inches when I have it set up the way I like with about 120 psi.

I know the shock can get full travel if it hits hard enough, but that would be a really hard hit to do that. The thing I find is if I want to let air out I can get full travel but the fork is way to limp for my weight, It just dives to easy just by me putting my weight on it when I first take off.

Does it sound right for me getting 4 1/4 inches for normal riding travel? and I assume the unused travel I don't use is for more advanced riders that are coming off of some very high jumps and landing on the front wheel with allot of force.

I like to the way the forks works and feel on the trails, I am not complaining, I am just wondering if I have more travel then I need, or if I should be using more. I don't know how fork manufactures can get the perfect balance when everyone weight is different.

mtbr member
    Greetings fellow rider. Since your Trek is a full sus rig, you probably shouldn't
    have less travel with the fork than the back shock has. It may create a feeling
    of imbalance and have weird handling characteristics. I'm speculating. It would
    kinda be like having a bike with 2" of travel in back and a rigid fork. But then
    again Talas uses the 150/120mm design, which I have on my FSR EVO. So when
    I run the 120mm setting on long climbs, I usually switch my rear shock into the