mtbr member
    Feb 2012

Trance 2006 , fork upgrade doubts

Hello, I currently own a 2006 Giant Trance with a 100mm fork. I am playing with the idea of upgrading the fork to 120mm. The rear shock it has, is a Fox Float RP3 with 4.2" travel. Since I am a noob, I don't know how this will affect the bike's geometry, riding, etc. it will be really helpful if you guys can help me out making this decision, since money is tight and I don't want to make a huge mistake.

Thanks a lot!

My bike.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I have a 2010 Trance that I ended up putting a 2010 Marzocchi 44 ti shock. It's been great. You can get some great deals on them online.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    120mm fork should be fine, lots of folks have done that. Many air forks can be lowered internally, in case you don't like the result.

It will raise the front slightly so you might want to find tune your handlebar/stem height, if you find it affects your climbing and/or cornering.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Thank you for your help! I have been looking at this one . Will use only the 110/120 mm setting. Is it to good to be true? Have been reading reviews online and it seems it is ok.

mtbr member
    Manitou Minute Expert Suspension Fork 130mm Black QR on ebay $325
    Minute Expert 130
    Do a search and read what folks here think. I have trance x with the minute pro 140 and its a super good fork IMHO. Right out of the box works good for me but can be tweaked a lot, also has a platform setting.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    A friend run's his with a Revelation set to 140mm and loves it. He claims that and a dropper post have been the two best upgrades.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Manitou Minute Expert QR Fork 2012 at Price Point

When choosing a fork look @ the axle to crown height as similar travels can differ.

kneecap
    Dec 2003