mtbr member
    Jul 2010

RS Sektor Rebound...Maxed to Turtle?

I have an RS Sektor 150 U-turn. I am 165 pounds, 173 suited up. Stock spring.

Ive maxed out my rebound to turtle to make it feel smooth on rocky descents. Its at a point with chatter from baseball sized rock is smoother out. Does this sound normal?

Ive been riding FS for 3 years. Ive only recently started fiddling with the rebound to reduce high speed chatter.

I ride a Trek Remedy. For my weight, the rear is recommended to be set at 3 clicks. Ive got it at 5 and it feels good there. Thats 5 out of 8 clicks.

Is my Sektor underdamped since I run out of rebound?

Opinions?

mtbr member
    Maybe try a heavier weight oil? May be worth getting checked out though, as my Sektor on full rebound is very slow to return, so something doesn't sound quite right.

mtbr member
    It has a bad rebound damper. Its really worth the ~70 bucks to get the blackbox unit. You can get the normal RS damper to work well over chatter, or work well for flowy trails. Not both.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by One Pivot View Post
    It has a bad rebound damper. Its really worth the ~70 bucks to get the blackbox unit. You can get the normal RS damper to work well over chatter, or work well for flowy trails. Not both.
    when you say bad, as in not designed well, or is broken?

thanks.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bing! View Post
    when you say bad, as in not designed well, or is broken?

thanks.
    Not designed well. It's fixed orifice design. If you adjust it to be good for small hits (slow enough beginning travel) it will not return fast enough for multiple hits (fork will pack down). Therefore performance is highly compromised. Traditional shim based valve is a lot better design as rebound is automatically faster for deeper stroke and slower for beginnig stroke. RockShox calls this Dual Flow rebound damper and other manufacturers call it something else.

mtbr member