mtbr member

Rockshox Judy T2 - "plunger bolt" replacement? needed?

My first post here and I am new to mountainbikes (actually first bicycle I've owned in probably 20 years). Please excuse my ignorance.

I needed a bike for trails and to get back into shape. I have a smaller budget to start. After a few days of research, I decided that the $120 Mongoose bike that WalMart sells (but Mongoose doesn't list on their website) wasn't going to cut it for me. I found this bike for $100 on craigslist - a 1998 Schwinn Moab 2 (aluminum), well maintained in great condition. Everything as indicated on bikepedia is all there except for the seat http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...e#.UX_3QrXvviU
    Rockshox Judy T2 - "plunger bolt" replacement? needed?-imgp9817.jpg

The only issue I've found is with the fork. It looks like the the plunger bolt was replaced with this thing that wont even go in all the way (hits the bottom of the fork end of the ...fork).
    I used a 22mm socket to remove both of the top cap assemblies and took a good look. The elastomers, springs (looks like someone switched to green - according to the manual those are the firm ones you can swap in) and oil all look good.
    Rockshox Judy T2 - "plunger bolt" replacement? needed?-imgp9815r.jpgRockshox Judy T2 - "plunger bolt" replacement? needed?-imgp9816r.jpg
    I tried to search around, but I can't find out what these plunger bolts do and if this is going to be safe to ride as is?

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I'd swap it to match the Allen head bolt in the left leg. I have a T2 in pieces right now waiting on parts and know first hand how difficult it is to find info on the T2 because of its limited production and essentially just being a glorified Indy.

Those lower bolts are M8x15mm and should have a crush washer under it. Each leg should have 10cc of 10-15wt fork oil to help lube the lower bushing; the proper bolt/washer combo will keep that oil inside and your fork (and you) happy.