mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Rockshox Duke XC Rebuild

Hey Everybody,
    I just bought a 2002 Rockshox Duke XC 80mm a few days ago. It's a little old, but it's replacing an even older Manitou SX. I'm tired of microgrease ports, 70mm of suspension and the flex, and I think the Duke is up for the task. It needs a good rebuild, and I'm planning my moves carefully because I've never done anything like this before. I was thinking of starting with Enduro seals and new o-rings. I'm not quite sure which weight oil I should use. I like a plush fork, but a big problem with the Manitou was that it would bob like crazy when I was out of the saddle. Is there any middle ground with oil? If the issue can't be addressed with oil, I was wondering (and this is a stretch) if I can buy a lockout damper to replace the current damper in the non-air side of the fork. I don't know if I'm missing anything with the rebuild, now I just need to get a torque wrench and I can start! Any kind of input is appreciated - Thanks
    The mediator between the head and the hands must be the heart

mtbr member
    I have a Duke XC. Nice fork. They are not too hard to rebuild. I do believe I needed a pair of good snap-ring pliers to remove a large snap-ring. I think it was so I could replace the air seal on the air piston. I bought my new air seal O-ring at a auto parts store. For oil I have been using silkolene fork oil. I use 5 wt in the damper. I've blended 5wt and 20wt to get 15 wt (or close enough to it), for use in the spring side. I think 5 wt alone would work ok. Rockshox had a good service manual for that line of forks. It served me well.

mtbr member