mtbr member
    Nov 2010

rock shox SID team QR 100mm

Hi all. I have some (used) Rock Shox SID Team 100m 9mmQR Blackbox motion control/poplock forks that I am running on my hardtail. So far so good!
    Thing is, they have no manual, and I am new to finer points of tuning and maintenance of forks.
    I have looked at the sticky and found the odd manual, but RockShox manuals are a bit average (as discussed here!). I don't own a shock pump, and thus far have just used my floorpump, as the fork +ive and -ive takes standard car valve fitting. Should I buy a forkpump, and if so, recommendations?
    If someone here could be bothered, I'd love to be taken through from the top:

- Setting sag, +ive and -ive pressures

- setting poplock (I have done this by aiming to prevent bobbing when climbing out of the saddle, using the compression gate knob). This setup is important, as the bike's a single speed and I will use this function alot.

- regular maintenance/attention. This is the bit I know least about. I will be likely to get a shop to do "rebuilds", but I do build and maintain all my own bikes, so happy to tackle many jobs. What should I be doing regularly other than cleaning?

- If there are videos/manulas, please point me in their direction! Haven't had much luck...

Thanks in advance!
    Mat

PS. I've also noticed some nice sales at the moment, so it may be time to upgrade the Suntour XCR fors on my BMC geared bike. Anyone got much to say about the rock shox reba rl vs sid rlt? Currently can score shipped for $297.50 vs $450. The reba look like really nice value for the money! Ideas?
    Last edited by mat-with-one-t; 12-21-2011 at 05:29 PM.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    just found this: Help dialing Reba
    Good start!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Yes, it's worth getting a shock pump, especially since you can find them as low as $10.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by fsrxc View Post