Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Recommend a fork to upgrade Trek 4300

The fork (RST Gila T8, 100mm travel) on my Trek 4300 disc (I think it's a 2008) has finally died. I need suggestions on a replacement. I do mostly XC riding. Obivously I don't want to spend a ton on this bike, but I do want something better!! Thanks a million.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Yes. I am a beginner. And the 4300 is not an exciting bike. But I do need help. If no suggestions on particular forks. Than what features should I look for. I am hoping to stay in the low $200's or less.

Fat-tired Roadie
    For that price, either EBay or a rigid fork from your shop.

People like the Tora as a budget but well-performing fork. One of the ones with the Motion Control damper. I have a different fork myself. Your best bet is to see what's available first, and then read the reviews and decide if it's a good risk.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

usually cranky
    tora with moco. cheapest "real" fork.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    OK. I've decided I'll spend anywhere under $300. I keep going back to the Tora 318. What specs/dimensions do I need to check to ensure that a particular fork is compatible with my bike? Even considering just the 318 it seems there is a wide variety of "options" to choose from. PopLoc etc. Remote lockout. Motion Control. U-turn. Can someone explain some of the terminology? It seems to me that the black colored ones are for disc brakes only and the white colored forks are compatible with either brake type. Correct? Do I need to stay with a fork with the same amount of travel that my bike came stock with?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Yes it is best to stay with the "fork travel" that was on the bike originally. A longer fork will make the bike handle slower ie make it like a chopper good in a straight line. Having said that many people seem to add about 20mm of travel and still be happy (from what i have read)

MTB B'dos