mtbr member
    Jan 2007

Porsche Bike fork problem!

I have a Porsche S bike with Votec GSIII forks on it. I bought it for my wife and the front forks are shot. How do I rebuild these? Any ideas? Yep, Im a newbie! Thanks in advance!

Maybe if you speak German their website might help? www.votec.com So you get the Carrera and she gets the bicycle?
    "...the people get the government they deserve..."
    suum quique

mtbr member
    I wish I could give you advice but I can't. Your question interested me because I lived in Switzerland for five years and there was a dealer nearby who sold Votec bikes but I never saw many around. I did a web search on Votec and found their home page. All their current bikes appear to have Fox, Marzocchi or Manitou forks on them. So it would appear that they no longer make forks but I may be wrong. How long have you had the bike? Could you take it back? If it is reasonably old you may be better off getting a "new" last years model fork for it. Let us know what travel it has, what type of brakes are on it and what it is used for and we could possibly recommend something at a good price.

Ronnie.
    The trouble with having an open mind is that people will insist on trying to put things in it.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Thanks Guys. I will let you know. I have a Porsche FS and the wife has the S. I would have no problem just putting on a different set of forks if possible. Im open for any decent used ones that someone may have. It is the small 19"(I think) frame so Im assuming the travel is short. The brakes are Magura Hydrostop. If I get new forks can I use my triple clamps?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by carrerax