Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2015

My Cane Creek DB Inline experience...

I'm new to MTBR but it was suggested I post this here for more visibility and maybe some more feedback...

In August 2014 I bought a Specialized Enduro Expert Carbon 650b with the Cane Creek DB Inline, RockShox Pike, SRAM X01 etc ... the bike is excellent, by far the best thing I've ever ridden. My LBS set me up on the bike with the correct sag etc and for the first week or so I didn't touch the DB Inline tune settings or even use the Climb Switch. I wanted to get a feel for the bike first before I started playing around with HSC, LSC, HSR & LSR. After another week or two, I had the DB Inline dialed-in to my riding style, local trail conditions etc and was very happy with the performance.

A short time later the DB Inline started "chirping" on the compression stroke, no other way to describe it really other than a short, sharp, high-pitched sound nearly every time the shock compressed. The performance of the shock changed, not necessarily in a bad way but it was now different and I found myself changing the tune again. I knew the DB Inline moved more oil through the chambers than most other shocks so I didn't know if the chirping sound was normal or not but I obviously had a feeling that something wasn't quite right. The sound the shock made every time I went to compress into a jump or hop over a log bugged me more than it should have. I tried a bunch of different tune settings / air-pressures, pulled the air can off to check it and suss out the volume spacers (1 large one installed) and other than dropping the air volume right down to an impractical psi, the chirping persisted.