mtbr member

Manitou Tower Pro 2012 coil spring

Do 2012 models come with medium or firm coils?

I find contradicting information on their website:
    Tower | Manitou

and in this interview:
    http://twentynineinches.com/2012/06/...tou-tower-pro/

What?
    Manitou rarely updates their website. All indications say all towers and the minute pro 140 now come with a firm spring

mtbr member
    Thanks! Have you got an idea of the suggested weights for the different coil rates?

What?
    I don't have a Mars spring fork, so I am not sure. Everything I have read seems to point to Mars springs being on the soft side for what they are rated. Firm seems to be what is needed for 180#ish riders and x firm for 200#ish. Thats why they are making and xxfirm spring. Thats all based on hearsay though since I have no personal experience.

mtbr member
    OK, thanks again. I didn't manage to find any doc on their website on this topic, so hearsay is the best source currently available :-)

BTW I'm only 155 geared and don't find the (supposedly) firm coil in my 2012 Tower Pro harsh at all--to the contrary, it feels pretty soft.. This perhaps because it's a 29er fork

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I weigh 190lb and ran the x-firm coil. I still found the overall spring rate way too linear for my taste. I prefer the ACT spring over the MAR's anyday.

What?
    Quote Originally Posted by keen View Post
    I weigh 190lb and ran the x-firm coil. I still found the overall spring rate way too linear for my taste. I prefer the ACT spring over the MAR's anyday.
    I agree with you, but did you try adding a few cc's of oil to the top of the air spring piston? That should solve your problem.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by mullen119 View Post
    I agree with you, but did you try adding a few cc's of oil to the top of the air spring piston? That should solve your problem.