mtbr member
    Apr 2006

How do I adjust my Marzocchi Bomber Z4

Hi everyone-

I'm new to the world of mountain bikes and have a quesion on the fork on my 99 Kona Caldera. I just picked this bike up on the used market and it has the Marzocchi Bomber Z4 Fork installed. It feels a little soft and I would like to stiffen it up a bit. Can anyone that has one of these forks tell me how to make the adjustments.

Thanks.

MK_
    carpe maņana
    Quote Originally Posted by FoleyF
    Hi everyone-

I'm new to the world of mountain bikes and have a quesion on the fork on my 99 Kona Caldera. I just picked this bike up on the used market and it has the Marzocchi Bomber Z4 Fork installed. It feels a little soft and I would like to stiffen it up a bit. Can anyone that has one of these forks tell me how to make the adjustments.

Thanks.
    If it is a coil fork, you'll need a heavier spring. If it is air, pump it up. Definatelly do an oil change, too. Puttin in heavier oil might make it feel firmer too. Stock is 7wt.

_MK
    "No man goes before his time -- unless the boss leaves early."
    -- Marx, Groucho

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    What size is that frame and where did you get it? Is it this bike?
    http://www.konaworld.com/Bikes/99bikes/99bikeinfo.html
    (select "caldera" from menu on the left after the page loads)

I've been looking for one of those in 18" frame for a while now.

If it is that one, it's an oil/coil fork. You can remove the top caps from each leg and add a little bit of oil to each leg. That will stiffen it up a bit. Just don't add too much!

-Que?
    Last edited by Que?; 04-21-2006 at 07:17 AM.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by FoleyF
    Hi everyone-

Thanks.
    Hey Foley-
    you can download the manual from the marzocchi site
    http://www.marzocchi.com/admin/downl...IDOggetto=2889
    Check out the oil height table in the technical area as well.

If you weight more than about 160lbs, I'd recommend that you get a firmer spring.