mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Help Servicing an 09 Magura Thor/Generally servicing forks?

Hi,
    The seals on my Thor are completely loose, theyre all warped around the stanchion and its leaking oil onto the stanchions. Rebound is also horrible even at high psi if i put half my weight on the front it takes up about 1/3 of the travel. Max rebound isnt "bouncy" at all.

Soo, i went out and bought 32mm Fox replacement seals since i read that they work on the Thor's and are better then the magura seals and some 10wt oil. (some people put 7.5wt?? but i read that 10wt is stock? Please corret me if im wrong)
    But after reading more im really confused.

On the magura site there is no service manual but they have an oil levels pdf and they say to use Blood Oil Type 5 which people are saying translates into 20wt???
    Is the oil you put into the legs different then the 10wt stuff?

Im completely new to this as this is the first time ill be servicing my fork so if you guys could walk me through it that would be great.
    My main questions are:
    - How do i replace the seals
    - What type of oil should i use
    - Where does the oil go, and are there different places you have to put different types of oil in?

Thanks alot

Edit*
    ok so the difference is damping oil and lubrication oil? Lubrication oil being the 20wt and damping oil being the 10wt? So how does that work, where do you put the lubrication oil and where do you put the damping oil?
    Thanks

Magura N. America Svc Mgr
    Jun 2004
    http://www.magura.com/uploads/media/..._E_2010_01.pdf

This has exploded views for your reference during tear down and reassembly.
    Magura Type 2 is 5 wt viscosity and for compression and rebound circuits.
    Magura Type 5 is 60 wt lubrication oil for the lowers and air chamber.
    5 cc's of Type 5 is recommended for the air chamber for sealing and lubrication.