Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    KVW
    Law abiding citizen

New question here. Full suspension and Hardtail - best of both worlds with a flick of a switch!

OK Let me just start off by saying I'm new to the full suspension world. I now have two of them (one's built second one is in the works). One thing I always loved about my Rockshox Reba RLT fork on my hardtail was it's lock out. When I recently switched to a Fox 32 F120 RLC, the lock out was even stronger! That thing doesn't even budge like switching to a fully rigid!

However it was a bit of a disappointment when I finally built up my fully and found my Fox Float RP2's "propedal" is a joke, plain and simple. I honestly cannot tell a damn difference. I come to find out (through calling my vendor thinking it's defective and asking on mtbr) that's just how propedal is. It's not so obvious - it's "subtle" I'm told... Yeah... subtle would be an understatement of the year.

So let me ask the experts in the Shocks and Suspension subforum of mtbr... does a rear shock exist with a *real* lockout? Something as good as my Reba or F120 forks? If not, why not?

Why isn't there a rear shock you can completely lock out and make that rear as tight as a drum? It exist for a reason on forks, why not in the rear where you need it most when standing up and hammering the pedals? Hell, a remote triggered lockout would be just as useful if not more useful than a fork remote lockout!

Please edjoomicate me.
    "Single track is for pansies!
    I blast down a mountain once, and in my wake, lies a new single track for the rest of you."-sm

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Lockouts are bad.

If you've designed a suspension bike and then have a full lockout, the peak loads will quickly fatigue and crack some part of the frame.