mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! Front Shock Fork Problem

Hey guys I am new to this forum and about 1 month into Mountain Biking so yes I am a newbie...I purchased a Trek 3500 (not the best bike I know but good for beginner) and now after about a month the front fork sounds like a pogo stick when I pop up the front tire....What could be the problem?

Any help guys?

THANK YOU!
    PETER_THE_BOSS

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Having never used a pogo-stick what does one sound like?

A quick search shows the fork is an SR Suntour M-3030 which, according to the exploded parts diagram on the manufacturer's website most likely has some sort of orifice damper in one of the legs.

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    Sorry for being a noob but I don't know what that means???? Orifice dampener?

And for the sound it sounds like a springy pop when I lift the front wheel off the ground...almost as if the suspension is topping out...not bottoming out

mtbr member
    It's impossible to say without hearing/seeing it. Might be normal. Does the fork seem to work ok?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    The reason it sounds like a pogo stick is because it IS a pogo stick.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by the-one1 View Post
    The reason it sounds like a pogo stick is because it IS a pogo stick.
    Give the guy a break. We all need to start somewhere, my first MTB was worse than that!

Ride it and enjoy it Peter. Sure, it's not the best bike in the world but any bike is better than no bike :0) And you are right, you could've done a lot worse.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    ^I wasn't giving him flack, I was telling him what it was.

mtbr member
    Jul 2014