mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Fox Vanilla RLC or Float RL 140s for all mountain Chameleon. (suspension noob)

Hey guys

I have very little experience with suspension forks. I ride BMX and so I have avoided bong bong bikes for a long time. All my experience is some old Manitou SX (3 weeks all on road) and my current 5 year old DJ3 (I just got them). I have ridden ridge off road though.

I am building a Santa Cruz Chameleon for all mountain at the moment. My LBS has Fox Shox sale at the moment. They have the FLOAT 32 RL 140 for 49,900 and Vanilla 32 RLC 140 for the same price. I was planning on buying the Float but I have been reading about the whole coil and air differences.

I want a fork with lockout that are smooth. I weight about 190lb (88kg) and planning on losing more as I ride more. The floats seem more customizable (without opening them) but the vanillas need to be opened. Which would be the smoothest on the trials?

If anyone with experience of riding them both could chime in, it would be great!

mbtr member
    The van is more customizable- high/low speed compression. You have to pull the spring to change the spring rate, but it's no biggie, you only do it once. It's also more plush- better damping tuning and fewer seals, although the float air spring is pretty good. Lockouts on mtb's are a little silly, it's not a bmx. Neither fork is stiff.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by scottzg
    The van is more customizable- high/low speed compression. You have to pull the spring to change the spring rate, but it's no biggie, you only do it once. It's also more plush- better damping tuning and fewer seals, although the float air spring is pretty good. Lockouts on mtb's are a little silly, it's not a bmx. Neither fork is stiff.