mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Fox Float R vs RP2 vs RP23 question

I feel ashamed for asking this, given that I've been riding MTBs since 1990 (Trek Singletrack Antelope) but what is the difference between these rear shocks? All my bikes have come with either RP2 or RP23 and I just thought they were the same except for a lockout feature. Are the internals different from model to model?
    02 Giant NRS
    05 Giant VT
    08 Specialized StumpJumper
    11 Giant Reign (converted to 27.5)
    14 Giant Trance 27.5

What could go wrong ...
    the R has rebound adj and the RL has lockout and the RP2 has 2 levels of PP and on/off and the RP23 has 3 levels of firm adjust of PP and PP on/off

RP2

Google is your Friend
    Last edited by Zoke2; 08-25-2012 at 04:13 PM.
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

mtbr member
    Complementing Zoke2 post, the R has no lock/ProPedal switch. Only thing adjustable is the rebound.

The way Zoke2 wrote about the RP2 may induce some in error. The RP2 doesn't have 2 levels of ProPedal. It only has one, usually set at medium level from the factory. What the RP2 allows is to select an open shock position (ProPedal not active) and another with ProPedal active.

The RP23 behaves the same way but allows the user to select the ProPedal level (from 3 available) on the fly. It isn't locked at a predetermined level from the factory.

mtbr member
    Good stuff here. The only other thing to know is that any of these shocks may have had AVA: Air Volume Adjustment.

This is a threaded adjuster for the air sleeve, which adds linear spring rate as the volume decreases. By default the shocks have a progressive spring rate, and decreasing AVA makes it more linear. FWIW I like my Float R AVA with max air volume but I'm still learning and tweaking the setup.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by ColinL View Post