Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Fox air forks - Modifying volume to get full travel?

Hi there,

I own a 2008 Fox F120 fork that i've been riding for the past 6 months for primarily XC and trail riding. I weigh around 67kg and when i first used the fork, could only get about 100mm of travel out of it regardless of sag setup.

After reading magazines and forums about others having similar issues, i decided to modify the push rod length in the air spring side of the fork in order to increase the volume and reduce the forks inherent progressiveness.

I cut about 20mm off the top of the push rod, with the DIY article suggesting up to 30mm could be severed.
    The fork has been a lot more plush since the modification, though there's still another 10mm of travel to be had.
    I'm thinking of taking the push rod out and cutting some more to get a bit more volume.

Im just interested to see if anyone else has performed this sort of modification and if so what sort of results they had.
    Im pretty sure that i can get full travel out of this fork, but id like to hear others experiences before i go hacking into its internals again

Cheers,
    Wil

FYI, the article about the modification was published in an Australian MTB magazine.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    A guy in Finland modified a -07 Fox float 140 mm, see pictures:

http://suksiseppo.pinkbike.com/album/Huoltoa/

TNC
    noMAD man

Another possibility...