mtbr member
    May 2007

Drop off IV, Sucks, I know, but...

Last spring, i picked up a base 2007 kona coiler. Love the bike, not so much the fork. Lots of searching has turned up that its junk. If i sell of some stuff, a new fork will be in the budget at some point. But for now, im messing with it, trying to get it as good as i can. I build a tool to adjust the rebound, and have played with the air. At my riding ability, it works fine at bigger hits, but sucks on the small stuff. Washborded and rocky roads can blur my vision...doesent soak up anything small. If i set it so it has any sag, its too soft on big hits. I'm at about 190 with my gear on.
    So, is there any hope for it? Im a mechanic, and i like to work on stuff...I read somewhere to a reference to internal mods you can do to it to improve it, but no details. I know the best answer is buy a better fork, but for now, i like to do whatever i can to what i have. And if nothing else, for the experiance!!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 340scout2
    Last spring, i picked up a base 2007 kona coiler. Love the bike, not so much the fork. Lots of searching has turned up that its junk. If i sell of some stuff, a new fork will be in the budget at some point. But for now, im messing with it, trying to get it as good as i can. I build a tool to adjust the rebound, and have played with the air. At my riding ability, it works fine at bigger hits, but sucks on the small stuff. Washborded and rocky roads can blur my vision...doesent soak up anything small. If i set it so it has any sag, its too soft on big hits. I'm at about 190 with my gear on.
    So, is there any hope for it? Im a mechanic, and i like to work on stuff...I read somewhere to a reference to internal mods you can do to it to improve it, but no details. I know the best answer is buy a better fork, but for now, i like to do whatever i can to what i have. And if nothing else, for the experiance!!