chips & bier

The dreaded Fox Forx bushing slop & what to do about it

For some reason my relatively new F120 suddenly has a significant amount of play on the upper bushings, feeling like a loose headset. This has developed over the course of only a couple of rides. As I don't want to have to go through the shenanigans of sending the fork back to the 'local' distributor (who is in a neighboring country) and wait fork weeks, and this is the nth time I've had bushing/creak issues with a newer F-series fork, I'm really hoping somebody here can help me out.

1) Any idea how much bushing slop is feature, not a bug? I've read various different responses from Fox and Fox distributors in the past.

2) Can I do something about this myself, such as shim the bushings? I'm a competent mechanic and service everything bar the bushings because at this point I don't have a bushing installation or removal tool.

Thanks in advance!
    eric

moaaar shimz
    Just dump that Fox and get something else. Bushing tolerance is 0.0015 0.0090. You need an internal micrometer to measure this.

Fox distributors and Fox itself will tell you most of the time the slop is designed to allow smooth movement, but 8/10 times it will be a manufacturing issue (out of tolerance) and they are just trying to avoid warranty.

Rock Shox lowers are conical inside to allow bushing fit depending on how deep you push them. I think Fox doesn't use this method so you are basically SOL.

chips & bier
    Bugger. I was hoping Fox was indeed conical. I'm going to contact our distributor again. They've fixed one fork with bushing slop in the past, likely by using a pair with tighter tolerances (or at least ones on spec) I guess.

Thanks!

Edit: Just spoke to the distributor and they said they'll replace the bushings with the tightest tolerance ones they can find, under warranty. They're willing to send me the bushings as well (if I pay for them).