mtbr member
    May 2012

Changing damper in x fusion vengeance.

So I need stiffer springs for my fork before I can use it. They don't have any in stock at the shops or even the manufacturer. They do however have a way more expensive solution. Upgrade my damper system and the bike shop said that will solve my bottoming problem just like having stiffer springs would. I am no expert on this at all so basically I'm just going to take their word for it. What do you guys think? Thanks

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    If your spring is too soft, and you a running too much sag, a new damper will not help you at all. You will still be running too much sag, and a new spring is the proper solution.

However, if you are running the correct sag with your current spring, the damping is likely the issue. You would be much better off, though, sending your fork to a suspension tuning outfit to have the damper properly valved to your needs. I believe Vorsprung is a tuner that handles X-Fusion. It may well end up being only slightly cheaper than getting a whole new damper, but it will land you a much better tuned fork.

What?
    As mentioned above, spring rate needs to be correct. Spring rate trumps damping and should be the first thing set up on any suspension. If your rate is correct, and you just ride hard and on the big hits, you bottom, your spring rate may be correct. If you bottom on small things or harshly bottom out on big hits, you need a firmer spring. Anything else will be a crutch.

Chances are you cant send your fork off to a company for tuning. you would likely need the upgraded damper for there to be anything to tune.

If you have the Veangance R, Its worth upgrading to the HLR damper. You will get a huge upgrade in performance and adjustability. Its worth it even if you also need a firm spring.

To get a good answer from us, it would help to know your weight, and which version of the vengeance you have.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006