mtbr member
    May 2012

Adapter to fit 20mm fork to 9mm rim?

From the title you'll notice I'm a cycling beginner, so please bear with me.

I recently purchased a Marzocchi Bomber Z.3 QR20 with 100mm travel.
    Unfortunately, I didn't know what "20mm" meant until I took it to the shop and they told me that my rim uses 9mm quick-release.

So my question is, besides purchasing new rims, is there some adapter that will let me use this 20mm fork with my rims?

Thanks.

mtbr member
    What wheel and hub have you got specifically?

You might be able able to get a new axle/set of end caps for the hub to make it 20mm. If not then either send the fork back (and get a different one) or it's time for a new front wheel.

The fork itself is not adaptable, you have a 20mm through axle fork, it can't be anything else.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    info about those end caps?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Tulok View Post
    info about those end caps?
    Some hubs use large diameter axles that have press-in end caps used to make them fit different sizes of fork (or frame).

Look at Hope Pro 2s for a good example, they're hub specific so you can't just get 'some end caps' to convert any brand of hub.

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    ya,.. the end caps are great.. but not many brands actually use them cept the aftermarket brands. some reason I'm guessing he's got Shimano hubs no end caps...

better off using the fork, and getting a hub or a new(ish?) wheel that is 20mm... you wont regret it. I went 20mm and will never go back to QR, very obvious improvement in how rigid the wheel is inside the fork and the fork it's self..

Hope, DT swiss? and a few others do use the end caps but guessing the shop would have pointed that out if there were convertible?
    Going to try and bring Trail Tire TV back. go take a look... http://trailtiretv.blogspot.com/

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    This is the adapter that you'll need.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010