Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2016 fox 36 - harsh!

164K views 974 replies 175 participants last post by  jack_steel 
#1 · (Edited)
Hoping I can get some pointers here for some issues with my fork.

I had an early 2015 36, than Fox actually ended up replacing under warranty for a 2016 model for me (stanchion wear and cartridge issue).

I've been riding it for about 3 months now & it's always been on the harsher side of damping for me. So much so I got the Fox guys to look at it (and subsequently do a full service) at the Whistler EWS. Initially it felt a little more supple on the top stroke, but by no means could it have been called buttery.

A few weeks ago I had a bit of a crash, and aggravated an old hand injury, and have since got back out onto the bike, and am suffering with the fork.

Short point is, I'm a reasonably fast rider, won and podiumed a few DH and enduro races over the years and when I'm charging, the fork feels 'OK' at best - problem is when I'm not, it feels brutally harsh. I've gone so far as to wind off all the compression, and drop air, yet this thing is killing me.

By chance, I hopped on my buddies Nomad with a BOS Deville on the front, he's a good 30lbs heavier than me, and his bike is set up for him, yet his fork literally felt like butter compared to mine, almost instant relief when riding. Amusingly, first thing he says about mine? Man, that fork is hard!

So, anything I can do? Part of me thinks suck it up and get a Deville, I've ridden one before and know they do have that amazingly supple initial stroke feel, or send the 36 off again? I'm going to be rehabbing my hand for at least 6 months, and am not sure I can literally take the pain for that long.

Could I have damaged the cartridge? The LSC has a small effect from open to closed, the HSC not so much at all. The range of adjustment does seem tight on this fork.

Any ideas?

See less See more
#286 ·