mtbr member
    Oct 2013

1999 Trek 6000 What forks can i buy as replacements?

Hey guys first off let me say I'm new to mountain biking, and only go riding out maybe once a month.

A family member recently let me have a 1999 Trek 6000 but the front shocks are shot. What forks can i buy to replace the Rockshox Jett t2's it currently has?

Not really looking to spend over $250 but let me know what u guys think.

Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I ended up going rigid on my 1998 Trek 7000 and, while I considered going back to a suspension fork, decided against it. I used a Surly 1x1 - front end is a lot stiffer, bike rides better.

Your other options are to scour ebay for a vintage fork, or look at the lower end 80mm RockShox forks (XC28 comes to mind.) Other than that, you're getting into forks with an A2C too tall to be comfortable. Far more bang for your buck riding a rigid fork and progressing slowly.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004

1999 should be an 1" 1/8" headset, and probally ahead set also.

There are forks from suppliers thru your local bike shop. They are basic but it sounds like you arnt looking for high end. Figure about 25.00 for install.

Bill

mtbr member
    Jun 2004

1999 Trek 6000 What forks can i buy as replacements?-imageuploadedbytapatalk1383081211.097347.jpg

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    i thought i had to use 80mm or it would throw off the geometry. at least that was my understanding from the few articles ive read on here about suspension.

Fat-tired Roadie
    RockShox Recon Gold. You might have to shop around a bit, but I think you could stuff it in your budget.

IME, +/- 20 mm is perceptible but not a big deal. Forks are more efficient with their use of space, lately, so it probably won't change your axle-crown height that much.

For compatibility, you need to match headset and brake standards.