mtbr member
    Feb 2007

1" Rear Shock - Softail (Unicoi)

Hello all,

Did some searches - but cannot find if this has been discussed before?

Hopefully someone can help:

Looking at bringing a 2001 Litespeed UNicoi back to life.
    Problem is - I have no rear shock for it.

I believe it was originally a Rock Shox 1" Sid - but think a Cane Creed AD-5(?) might also have been on at some stage...

Anyone have any info about what can be used now? Any similar, modern-day shocks made by anyone? Any info will be appreciated!

Oh - I've emailed Litespeed already - but hoping this will be quicker!

Former Bike Wrench
    Cane Creek can still get you one, I would contact them

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    While I have had some pretty bad experiences with Risse Racing in regard to over all feel of their products, I would say they are a safe bet when the suspension is on a short travel soft tail. There isnt much suspension to feel as it is!

Risse Racing does all kinds custom stuff. Very few limitation in regard to eye2eye and stroke.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Thanks!

I've emailed Risse about it now - will follow up with Cane Creek as well. Had a look on their website, and it doesn't appear as if they still make anything that would come close - but they possibly don't list it anymore.

Ideally, I'm hoping that someone who has gone through this process recently, will pick up on this - and share some thoughts!

Till later....

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Mtnbiker72's experince may have been different than mine, but when I contacted them about shock length which wasn't listed on their site, they said they couldn't help.

Risse, on the other hand, can do pretty much anything you want.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Cane Creek just got back to me with a reply. It appears they still have supplies of the shock in question! Am one very happy mtb'er right now! Hello new project - bringing an old frame back to life!

Thanks for all the help people!

Maromero