Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2012

XT brakes with i-spec shifters

Can anyone post a picture of XT brakes (or any model brake system) paired with an I-spec shifters? I am a bit of a noob to this but am planning to get the pair. Looking at pictures of the two products separately, I just can't picture how they go together.

In addition, can anyone help tell me what I-spec part will pair up with the XT m785 part?

Thanks forum, any help is appreciated.

mtbr member
    Its actually quite difficult to take a photo that shows how they go together, but have a look at these I just snapped...

Basically the silver metal bar sticking out of the shifters inserts into a slot in the brake lever clamp, and a nut behind secures it. There is side to side adjustment of the shifters in relation to the brake lever only, achieved by losening the dome shaped nut dead centre of the second picture above. I find Ispec works very well, and reduces clutter (and weight) in the cockpit.

To mate with the M785 levers you'll need to either buy the M780 I-Spec shifters, or the standard M780 shifters plus a set of SM-SL78 I-Spec Adapters to replace the standard indicator covers (although obviously thats a more expensive way to do it, but it gives you both mounting options).

Edit: Here you go, this should make it much clearer, straight from the big 'S' themselves http://bike.shimano.com/media/techdo...9830747524.pdf
    Last edited by PerthMTB; 02-08-2013 at 03:51 AM.

mtbr member

XT brakes with i-spec shifters

Here are a few more. I love this setup. XT brakes with i-spec shifters-imageuploadedbytapatalk1360334772.665861.jpgXT brakes with i-spec shifters-imageuploadedbytapatalk1360334784.847330.jpg

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    thanks much guys! im hoping to get a set of xt brakes and shifters but was not too sure what part numbers match up. I guess I didn't look hard enough, but no where on jenson did it say what would pair up with what.

thanks again!

mtbr member