Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Where did the low-normal/rapid-rise derailleur go?!

I just picked up a new bike with the new XTR 2x10 system. I love it EXCEPT! the only option on the rear derailleur is top-normal. Does anyone know if Shimano is going release a Shadow Rapid Rise derailleur?

I've been using rapid-rise for 10 years. It makes uphill shifting so much better. My brain is programmed for it, and now every time I come to a hill I end up gearing up instead of down! I needs my rapid-rise!

/Guad

the catalan connection
    I wonder too. I' m so used to it that I can't think of any other option. I was about to go 10 speed when I noticed there was no rr derailleur option, so I just going to stay 9 speed.
    "Blessed is the man who, having nothing to say, abstains from giving us wordly evidence of the fact." George Elliot

mtbr member
    I get the idea that Shimano's given up on rapid-rise. Maybe not, but I hardly ever see or hear of it anymore. It seems to have gone the way of those brake levers that also shifted gears for you.

ups and downs
    Rapid rise and dual control took the same bus out of Shimano town.
    I'm a member of NSMBA and IMBA Canada

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Does Shimano read this forum? It's strange they don't have any way to provide feedback on their own website.

I'm hoping they haven't given up on rapid-rise. In my opinion, rapid rise should be the standard. I'm going to have a hell of a time switching between my older bike with rapid-rise and new bike with top-normal. Ug.

the catalan connection
    I read somewhere around here that the newer shadow derailleurs donīt play well together with RR inverted parallelograms. Something about cable routing and pull I believe.
    Dual Controls were matched with RR derailleurs, but were not exclusive of them. Actually RR derailleurs were already here long before DC. So, yes, thay took the same bus out of shimano town, but they didnīt arrive on the same one