mtbr member
    May 2012

Shifter decisions.....

So I'm going to be picking up 1x10 items shortly. Trying to decide what shifter to grab. XT, SLX, Zee, or Saint? I plan on using the I-spec mount. Seeing as I only need the right, Zee and Saint seem to be easier to find without getting a pair. I initially thought XT but a Saint shifter is cheaper right now. What are the pro's and con's of each? Are there any major differences between them? Thanks.

In case it matters, it will be shifting a Zee FR derailleur.

mtbr member
    I just switched over to 1x10 using a Zee FR rear derailleur and a Saint shifter with an 11x36 xt cassette. I love the feel of the set up (crisp and smooth) and the shifter matches my Zee brakes perfectly. All black with dimples. Plus I was able to get the i-spec saint shifter for less than $50 shipped. I have no experience with the set up with xt shifters so sorry I cant comment.

I have run into an issue with chain length though. I sized the chain for the 36t rear cog at full compression of the rear suspension, when I shift into the 11t cog I have massive amounts of chain slack. I am running a small front ring (24t hammerschmidt) at the moment and have since ordered a new Saint crankset with a 32t Race Face wide narrow wide chainring. I am currently riding a Foes FXR and am thinking the single pivot design along with the small diameter chainring up front is using up more throw than the cage of the derailleur is able to take up. Does anyone have any comments on this? Thanks.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by MotoDane250 View Post