mtbr member

Dyna-Sys Venting Thread, Not Star Wars!

30 speeds hits the mountain bike range

Thanks Shimano!

Now you will have to shift atleast 2 gears on the rear in most situations where one shift was sufficient on an 8 speed setup! (This criticism is based on the last time I went with a 10 speed rear cassette on my road bike........ I have since switched back to 9 speeds back there!)

I have no experience other than what I am reading........ and as you can now tell I'm a little disturbed by it's release. Maybe the tighter 10 speed cassette won't be as sensitive to adjustment as the current 9 speed is...... hoping, but doubting! BTW a 10 speed chain works great on current 9 speed setups and makes them less sensitive to fine tuned adjustment! ...... but hey, I'm a mechanic and know how to adjust my barrel adjusters as I ride!........ I guess, I'm worried about teaching my customers to adjust for small changes!

...... I was hoping the evolution was going to be dropping one or more of the rear cassette gears down to 8 speeds and keeping the triple up front!...... Then transfer that to road bikes too!.......... I guess I'm still dreaming!........ Good to see SRAM is now the leader in technologies!...... (I'm reeling a bit after my initial post and editing here....... as I guess having as many gears out back as possible reliably is better...... although, my weight conscious mind is always hesitant to add more weight!)
    Last edited by kneejerk; 05-01-2010 at 07:00 AM.

Urban Ninja
    Has the cable pull ratio changed? I mean other than adding one more gear in the current 2:1 ratio. Thought I heard that on a video...
    For Sale: EPIC

Send it!

www.rayscyclebicycles.com

mtbr member
    [QUOTE=kneejerk]I have no experience other than what I am readingQUOTE]

That's for sure.

mtbr member
    Oh look. an informed opinion...

http://www.bikeradar.com/news/articl...e-review-25941

I'll give it a whirl and then we'll see.

mtbr member