w3rd.

2007 XTR DCL Question

The instant release system for the 07 dcl's seem like a cool idea. However I do have a few questions:

1. How much different is it from the 06's? I know with the 06's you go 1 up, 3 down. So do the 07's go 2 up, and 2 down?

2. Will the 07's shift slower than the 06's? I would think having to push up the lever two times instead of a bunch of quick one timers would feel slower. Any ideas?

3. Does anyone have them yet? If so, let me know how much you like them.

Thanks for reading!

mtbr member
    I've had mine since september and think they are better than the 06 versions. you are correct the shifter now has 2 up and 2 down shifting.
    To answer your second question: you can still do the quick shifts (one at a time if you like) or just push the lever a little furture and you get the second release. I liked the 06 version and didnt think they needed changing untill I started riding these. the brake feel is vastly improved. modulation and braking control is unsurpassed. I dont think i've riding traditional brake lever brakes that feel this good. The shifting is just as intuitive as it used to be but the ergonomics of the new shifters and the new features (instant release and multi-release) make these shifters a lot more user friendly. Also, on the older version the thumb lever was in the way and almost everybody removed them. the new thumb lever is tucked up next to the shifter body and is not in the way at all. I've even started using it to release cable on steep descents that dont let me let go of the brake lever. I can pre-select my gear before i start to climb again, without sacrificing my safety by letting go of the brake lever. I think this is the best shifting system available for XC/trail riding.

w3rd.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dover
    I've had mine since september and think they are better than the 06 versions. you are correct the shifter now has 2 up and 2 down shifting.