Old Fart

Derro frame Will I Like It??

I've been riding a Gary Fisher Team Issue Sugar for about the past 5 years and love it. Sadly I broke the frame the other day, since I bought it second hand I'm sure Trek won't warranty it. So I'm looking to for a frame to bolt all my parts onto. Wondering if anybody has ridden both a Sugar and a Derro and how they might compare.

I'm looking on the Price Point Website, are there other options?
    If you say gullible slowly enough it sounds like "oranges"

mtbr member
    May 2011
    The Drerro has only been out for a month so there just are not too many people out there who have one yet. I have a Derro 1.0 which I discussed in a previous thread. I have about 200 hard miles on it now and so far it's done just about everything I've asked it to. If I could change one thing it would be the headtube angle as it seems a little slack. The front wheel gets stuck basically on the roots and rocks on slow climbs because of the slack headtube. It's no big deal though, I'm pretty much used to it and have adjusted my technique when climbing the slow rough stuff. What I like the best about it is that it's well balanced. I never have to worry about looping out when I'm off the back or endoing because I was too far forward and hit some really rough stuff on the downhills (probably due to the slack headtube I mentioned earlier). The suspension doesn't bob like crazy on the climbs.

Sorry I can't be of any help to you as far as the Sugar comparison goes but I think in time you'll see a lot more Derros out there and someone with Sugar experience will hopefully be able to give you some insight.

Old Fart
    Thanks, I didn't realize they were that new. At this point I'd be happy to hear from anyone that has ridden one then whether or not they can compare it to a Sugar.
    If you say gullible slowly enough it sounds like "oranges"

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    somebody knows the weight of the derro in 19`without shock?

mtbr member
    Aug 2011