mtbr member
    Apr 2012

New question here. Scott Aspect Sport vs Scale Comp

Hello! I'm looking at potentially purchasing a Scott bike tomorrow and I wanted to poll the audience on a question.

I'm considering between an Aspect Sport ($819 MSRP) and a Scale Comp ($999 MSRP).
    Basically I'll end up out the door at $692 or $845 respectively.

So, the question is: Is there an overwhelming reason to put out the extra $150 for the Scale Comp? I'm a beginner mountain biker, and am doing it mostly for trail riding and exercise.

Looking at the specs, they have the same fork (XCR 100mm),
    similar running gear (Alivio Fr/ Deore R vs Alivio Fr/SLX R)
    both have hydraulic brakes: (Shimano BR-M446 vs Tektro Draco),
    Different rims: (Araya DS-700 Disc vs Alex XC-49 Disc)
    Different tires: (Schwalbe Rapid Rob, 29x2.2 vs Schwalbe Rocket Ron, 29x2.25)
    Same BB and Crank:
    ~2 lbs weight difference: 30.1 pounds vs 28.6 pounds

I'm guessing the weight difference is worth $150 to some, but from my standpoint, I don't know that the difference in brakes and weight is a big deal to me. Does anyone have a good reference on how much better the Scale is than the Aspect? Is the frame better? Can it take more abuse?

One of my main concerns is durability (I'm ~235lbs) and would rather have a stronger bike than lighter bike... since they have the same fork, I'm assuming all the weight difference is in the wheels.

I also like a green a bit better than than the black/grey/red combo, but that ranks below performance by a longshot.

Thoughts?

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Well, I ended up going with the Scale Comp 29er. I test rode both, and the Scale Comp in a medium felt a little bigger than the Aspect, and the larges were too big for me. I have a long torso and short legs, so it is annoying because bigger bikes feel better on my torso, but smaller bikes feel better for pedaling.