mtbr member
    Nov 2013

People still happy with their 2013 Scott Genius 740?

My lbs has a new 2013 Scott Genius 740 for a really good price in my size... I'm actually a bit shocked it's lasted this long. I saw it in early december, and just assumed it'll be sold by the time I'm ready to get it... went saturday to window shop, and they still had it.

I've looked and read a bunch about this model (and the 720), are people generally pretty happy with this bike? Unless there's monsterous horror stories that I don't know about, I think I"m going to purchase it this week (pending a quick ride to make sure I'm comfortable on it... I'm a beginner).

Thanks for any insight.

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    I got my 740 on April 2013 and its a really good bike but after 7 month I was sick of the DT M3 rear shock (it did handle 3 to 4 feet drops) so on dec.13 I made the swap to a fox float ctd shock, got the 142x12 thru axle chips, renthal handlebar, 40mm stemm, dropper post, etc... and now it a totally different bike, so IŽm keeping it for another year.........
    But mine 740 came with nobby nic tires man a F***ing hated them after like 3 month the sidewall had a big hole...

Also the fox 34 150mm fork its really plush if you take your time on the setup.
    So is you get a really nice price you can upgradeit.

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Just bought the bike I was looking at. So I can now unsubscribe to all the other manufacturer forums here except this one (simplier life equals happier life?).

MQ, which dropper post did you get? Where did you mount the remote (do you still have the twinloc for the front shock?)?

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Congrats on the bike.

I got this dropper on dec.13 it working fine until now. Its working with 200psi and the control its on the right side. (Made the installation before I remove the twinlock)