mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Looking to upgrade my Scale 29er Comp, suggestions?

Hey all, I've been riding the bike in stock form for the last year but am now ready to upgrade a few things.

First off I need a new fork. Bottom'd out this Suntour XCR last ride and threw myself over the bars cracking a few ribs. I'm new to this though. What's up with the different tube tapers and different geometries? Even if I found a fork that I like I'm not sure what spec it needs to be to fit my bike? What fork recommendations do you guys have around $350ish for an aggressive xc rider?

I just ordered a set of wellgo mg-1's and am looking in to converting to a single front derailleur.

Also, are there any budget friendly things I can do to put my bike on a diet?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Your Best Friend
    Without looking at it (and I don't know your models specs), I can't tell you if you need a tapered or straight steerer tube fork. Figure that out and that is all you really need to know. I'd recommend finding a used Reba (09 or newer) to throw on there.

After that, bang for your buck in both performance and weight improvement...get some new wheels.
    I guide and rent bikes in Northern Utah

http://www.facebook.com/AdventureEarthRides

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Thanks for the reply. I'll keep an eye out for a used Reba.

Any recommendations on a decent wheelset?

mtbr member
    I think the best bang for the buck wheelset in 29er format right now is the Blag Flag by Sun Ringle. You of course can't go wrong w/ Stans no tubes or American Classics either.
    Before you buy anything online, send Bob at bikerbob.com an email! Best online retailer!

My bike/ race Blog

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Aluminum Scale 29ers have a standard 1 1/8 headtube. A tapered head tube means it's 1 1/8 at the top and 1.5 in at the bottom.