mtbr member
    Jul 2007

High end parts are they really worth it?

I have found that people like to pay for things that aren't really needed. The fact is that most of the stuff they put on bikes works fine and the companies are making you think that all of the components make the ride better. You know what makes the ride better? Riding. The reality is that the difference in bikes is minimal. I can see the difference in shocks to some degree but is it really worth $400 or $800 more. I say no. Opinions?
    See Ya at the bottom!!!!

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Wheels and forks and saddles yes, everything else, not so much.

I have uber high end stuff on my bike because I work in the industry.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    depends on the components you have,i will agree that "upgrading" from xt to xtr would be a waste of money for most people but on many budget bikes the manufacturer has saved money by putting rely cheap parts on it and in those cases the difference in performance,reliability and weight can be significant.
    also for some people,if buying that new part makes them like their bike more and makes them want to ride more then it is definitely worth it.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by pumaking View Post

I have uber high end stuff on my bike because I work in the industry.
    I agree. Thanks for the input.
    See Ya at the bottom!!!!

mtbr member
    Jul 2007

... and if we just ...

Quote Originally Posted by dsintov View Post
    depends on the components you have,i will agree that "upgrading" from xt to xtr would be a waste of money for most people but on many budget bikes the manufacturer has saved money by putting rely cheap parts on it and in those cases the difference in performance,reliability and weight can be significant.
    also for some people,if buying that new part makes them like their bike more and makes them want to ride more then it is definitely worth it.