Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    mtbr member

Tallboy 2 Owners Thread

Didn't see a thread for the new Tallboy, so I thought I would go ahead and create one.

Waiting on mine, Matte blck/white carbon SPX XC but replacing the WTB rims with Spez Roval Control Carbons.

Received a Large TB2c at my shop yesterday with the XO 1 kit.

Weight was an impressive 24.16 w/o pedals setup tubeless.

BTW, coming off a Tallboy LTc, which I've ridden for the past year.

I really loved that bike, but looking for something a little more xc that can still handle all day trail riding.

Cheers!
    2014 Tallboy 2

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I currently ride a TBLTc and also interested in the changes made to the TB especially any diff. in pedaling. A brief mini review would be helpful. Any new owners out there?

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    I just got my Tallboy 2 Carbon with X01...one word = awesome.

I cannot comment on comparison with Tallboy LTc, never ridden that, but I have some experience with recent Niner Jet9, several hardtails, an older Trek Fuel FS.

As for the Tallboy 2 C, I am completely/totally smitten. I got the fancy shock/fork, Kashima whatnot, with the CTD settings. Total bike weight, ready to ride = just over 24 lbs.

As for pedaling/pedal bob, with both the fork/shock on 'climb' (stiffest setting), it feels a LOT like riding a hardtail with low rear tire pressure, there is certainly some pedal bob, but nowhere near what I thought there would be. I would say that it has actually improved some of my climbing (compared to my Karate Monkey hardtail), because now the rear tire stays stuck to the ground instead of bouncing off the rocks so much. The Tallboy being several pounds lighter helps this too.

I can say I have never ridden anything like the Tallboy 2, not even close.