Golden Bears United

SOLO owners--What's wrong with my Fox Float fork?

I got my white Solo (not 5010) alloy bike a week ago. The LBS said to give it 20 hours of riding and report back before they sort out the suspension, cutting hoses, etc.

After about 7 hours of riding on it, I'm not sure if my front fork is normal or wrong. I'm a FS noob, so please bear with me.

Here are some of the problems I noticed with the fork, 32 Fox Float CTD:

1. It does not have 130mm of travel. I let out all the air, pushed the fork down as much as possible until complete bottom out, and it measured 112 mm from tob of seal to bottom of O-ring . There's still about 25+ mm of exposed, unused stanchion above the O-ring.

2. With air in, the recommended PSI by Santa Cruz/Fox is way too stiff. To get the proper sag and possibly use all of the travel (112 mm of it) I would have to use about 65 psi (front) and 125 psi (rear). I'm 160 lbs fully-geared. But that pressure is about 20 or so psi lower than recommended settings.

3. But at the lower PSI, the front dives noticeably when braking.

4. Fork has LOTS of stiction. LOTS.

Is this normal? Anything wrong with my fork?

What should I tell by LBS to adjust, configure, rebuild, etc?

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    I had similar issues with mine. I'm also 160 lbs.
    - If I let all the air out of the fork, it bottoms out around the middle of the Kashima logo on the stanchion, which is about 120mm.
    - It felt like it had lots of stiction.
    - With proper fork sag, it would blow through its travel and gets lots of brake dive.