Former MTBR Member
    Mar 2004

Cool-blue Rhythm Santa Cruz Clunk Clunk

I've now had a Bullit, Heckler and VPfree and they all have had slop between the DU bushing and the bolt that the bushing rides on. Pick up the bike from the seat and you get about of mil or two of unimpeded travel. Clunk. Clunk.

Is it just me? What's the fix? On another note: Why are we using a threaded bolt for a pivot anyway? Seems like state-of-the-art lawnmower technology to me, but I'm not an engineer or anything.

Whoaohohohoh
    You just have to replace the DU bushing.

Err....are you talking about the pivots, or the du bushing that is in the shock eyelet, I might be mis-answering your question. If the slop is in the shock, then...

Call up the manufacturer of the shock and they will sell you the right parts. I know FOX will sell direct, I don't know about manitou or marz You could try going to your LBS as they might just have the DU bushing in stock.

TNC
    noMAD man
    On the threaded bolt, I'm guessing you're talking about the bolts at the shock eye mounts? As long as the portion of the bolt that rides inside the shock eye reducers isn't threaded and is the right diameter, it's as good as any high dollar alternative that you'd have to special order from the frame manufacturer. The Nomad uses a fancy thru-shaft setup at the shock eyes, and I've already had two of the "special" 6mm bolts snap off at their heads...swapping too many shocks for experimentation and too soft an alloy to try and attain that XC weight for the Nomad that SC is apparently looking for. Fortunately a pair of good ol' lawnmower 6mm allen screws fixed the problem. It was so good I put two more lawnmower screws in the other end of the shock mount. Simplicity with effectiveness is good...LOL!

Former MTBR Member
    Mar 2004
    Yes. I'm talking about the bushings I pressed into my new Fox DHX (and all the other progressive shocks I've had for that matter).