mtbr member

Santa Cruz Blur TR vs LT

Hi All- I'm a relative newbie and I'm currently riding a 29er hardtail. I like going over the rocks and roots, so I've been curious about FS. Today I demo'd a small Blur LTc at a Santa Cruz demo day at Skeggs Point (Northern CA). It was really only my second time on a full suspension, and I really liked the bike.

I should say that I'm 5"1, so it's hard to find a bike to demo at a shop, and I'm lucky if there's something in my size at a demo day.

When I got home, I went onto the Santa Cruz site to take a look at the Blur LT and I saw there's also a TR. The geometry seems pretty close on the two models. Is it just the fork that makes the difference here?

I ride in the Bay Area (China Camp, Joachim Miller, Tamarancho, Skeggs, Annadel, etc. - if your'e familiar with the area), singletrack/trail and some fireroad (though we prefer singletrack/trail). I'm learning how to go over the more technical features, and I really like them - but still in the learning phase (waiting for my first big wipeout). My biggest weakness is climbing, which is definitely easier on my 29er hardtail.

Back to my questions:
    What's the real difference between the TR and LT?
    Is one more geared towards climbing (where I could use the most help)?
    What's the right travel for the kind of riding I do?
    I'm not very big/heavy - is that a factor to consider with the front and rear travel?

Thoughts, suggestions, advice welcome.

(I'm also curious if anyone has thoughts on the Blur compared with the Pivot Mach 5.7 - but I can post that in a general forum to get a wider audience.)

Thanks in advance....

-laine

mtbr member
    Dec 2005