mtbr member
    May 2013

Play in bottom links on my 2010 Blur LT?

I noticed a bit of wobble in what appeared to be my bottom bracket or crank, and when I brought it in to the shop they told me it was the pivots at the bottom of the VPP. I don't get how that could cause the wobble if it's noticeable when the bike is being pedaled by hand (no suspension active), but whatever. How common is this? I just got the bike, a 2010 model, and they told me it would be $45 for diagnosis then another ~$200 for replacement if the bearings are shot. This seems fair, but I'm new to having a Santa Cruz( or any high performance bike for that matter) and would appreciate some opinions.. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Check out this article. Get yourself some grease, Loctite, a torque wrench with 5, 6, 8mm bits and have at it.

Tech Tuesday: Adjust the Pivot Bearings on Any Santa Cruz VPP Suspension - Pinkbike
    The cake is a lie.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by kubikeman View Post
    Check out this article. Get yourself some grease, Loctite, a torque wrench with 5, 6, 8mm bits and have at it.

Tech Tuesday: Adjust the Pivot Bearings on Any Santa Cruz VPP Suspension - Pinkbike
    Thanks. They're doing an adjustment for $45 and said they would call me if the bearings are shot. If they are, that's and additional $200. Should I just tell them no if they say I need to perform that work and adjust myself?

mtbr member
    That depends on how much you trust your bike shop mechanics

If you're feeling ambitious, you can order the tools and parts you need directly from the Santa Cruz Bikes store. Only problem you may run into is if you bust a bearing while extracting the old ones. Then you're left with half a bearing buried inside your frame

It sounds like you bought a used frame. If they turn out to be rusty and loose, might not be a bad idea to just have the shop replace them and be done with it. Then the frame should give you many more years of worry free service.