mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Old School Santa Cruz Heckler

Hey guys I'm new to the forum and looking for some advice.

I've had my Heckler for about 13 years and still love it to bits.

However I'm looking to upgrade some components and wondered where would be a good place to start?

All the chain and drive shift mechanisms are in good condition and so I am not looking to replace these.

I'm really a weekend rider and as I have other hobbies I am looking to do this within a reasonable budget if you know what I mean.

I'm a total newbie when it comes to bike parts and repair so I took it to my local bike shop yesterday to have the front derailleur set up properly and while he was doing this the guy said that the back end has gone and needs a new wheel bearing. I wasn't too sure what he meant so did some research and I think he may mean the bottom bracket (I've put an arrow on the picture)? Any ideas where I can get a part for this and how it needs to be installed (I'd like to start learning how to maintain and fit new parts to the bike myself)?

In terms of upgrades I'd like to get an air suspension part for the rear suspension - which ones would fit and what do you recommend?

As I'm starting to take mountain biking more seriously I want to go clip less. I've taken a photo of my current pedals - can these be converted so I can clip in? The look similar to the Shimano SPD M324 ones but don't have the middle bit in which the shoes clip onto - can this be purchased separately?

Thanks in advance
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Old School Santa Cruz Heckler-wp_000070-1-.jpg  

Old School Santa Cruz Heckler-wp_000071.jpg  

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    The arrow is pointing to your suspension pivot. The only thing replaceable in there is a bushing.

The bottom bracket is where your cranks rotate in the body of the frame and connect to the chainrings.